Arsenal Confirm Squad for Europa League Final


May 29, the date for the UEFA Europa League final between two of England's top teams is gradually drawing near. By this time on Thursday, we would have known which side owns the gold for this season's edition.

As we already reported here on Saturday, Arsenal have left London for Baku to prepare for the big game. They will have a two-day training session to keep them in shape before the D-day.

A total of 24 players, one of which was Danny Welbeck, were on the plane. Henrikh Mkhitaryan was left at home to avoid any form of violent attacks on him since his homeland, Armenia, and the venue, Azerbaijan, have got a diplomatic rift which forbids anyone from any of the countries to visit the other.

A full list of the squad which features some youngsters has been confirmed by Arsenal and there they are below:


Petr Cech, Bernd Leno, Deyan Iliev


Ainsley Maitland-Niles, Carl Jenkinson, Stephan Lichtsteiner, Sokratis, Shkodran Mustafi, Laurent Koscielny, Nacho Monreal, Sead Kolasinac


Mesut Ozil, Granit Xhaka, Lucas Torreira, Matteo Guendouzi, Mohamed Elneny, Joe Willock


Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Alexandre Lacazette, Danny Welbeck, Eddie Nketiah, Alex Iwobi, Bukayo Saka, Xavier Amaechi

It is from this lot that Unai Emery will pick his starting side as well as substitutes. The rules in this contest allows clubs in the final to name as many as 12 substitutes meaning Arsenal may have only one of the players who travelled out of the match day squad.

Post a Comment